skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • play_arrow

    LP Country 128k Where Country & Rock Collide

  • play_arrow

    LP Country 320k Where Country & Rock Collide

Country News

Sturgill Simpson, Eric Church Cover John Anderson on New Tribute Album

todayMay 4, 2022 1

share close

Sturgill Simpson, Sierra Ferrell, and Eric Church are among the all-star group of artists who wil interpret the music of country great John Anderson on the new album Something Borrowed, Something New: A Tribute to John Anderson. Produced by Dan Auerbach and Dave Ferguson, the project will be released Aug. 5 on Auerbach’s Easy Eye label.

Something Borrowed, Something New runs the gamut of A-list talent, from contemporary mainstream stars to country iconoclasts to bluegrass and Americana heroes alike. Luke Combs takes on the 1992 smash “Seminole Wind,” while Eric Church opts for the 1995 single “Mississippi Moon” and Simpson tries out “When It Comes to You.” Others look further back in Anderson’s catalog: Brothers Osborne sing the 1986 track “You Can’t Judge a Book (By the Cover),” Brent Cobb does 1982’s “Wild and Blue,” and Tyler Childers tackles the 1980 album cut “Shoot Low, Sheriff.” The late John Prine appears as well, singing “1959.”

The project’s lead offering is also one of Anderson’s early hits. Gillian Welch and David Rawlings put their spin on “I Just Came Home to Count the Memories,” a Number Seven hit and title track of Anderson’s 1981 album. Welch and Rawlings strip it down to emphasize their guitars and voices, while Auerbach and Ferguson sprinkle in some atmospheric touches that add to the unrelenting feeling of loss.

Auerbach ensured a sense of continuity with the recordings, asking every artist to come to his Nashville studio and cut their parts.

“We weren’t trying to piddle around and make the normal tribute record,” he said in a statement. “It had to be the best singers with the best songs and the best arrangements, and they all had to come into the studio. This wasn’t like, ‘Mail me the song, and we’ll put it together.’ Everybody had to come here and do their thing.”

Anderson has remained active more than 40 years into his recording career. Most recently, he worked with Auerbach and Ferguson on 2020’s Years, a project that he tracked while dealing with some serious health issues including hearing loss.

“It was a great experience and, for me, a healing experience,” Anderson told Rolling Stone in 2020. “Working with Dan and working through the tracks on these songs and writing these songs originally was maybe one of my biggest accomplishments in my career after what I’d been through.”

Something Borrowed, Something New track list:

  1. “1959” performed by John Prine
  2.  “Years” performed by Sierra Ferrell
  3. “Wild and Blue” performed by Brent Cobb
  4. “Low Dog Blues” performed by Nathaniel Rateliff
  5. “Mississippi Moon” performed by Eric Church
  6. “I Just Came Home to Count the Memories” performed by Gillian Welch & David Rawlings
  7. “Shoot Low Sheriff!” performed by Tyler Childers
  8. “Seminole Wind” performed by Luke Combs
  9. “When It Comes to You” performed by Sturgill Simpson
  10. “You Can’t Judge a Book (By The Cover)” performed by Brothers Osborne
  11. “Would You Catch a Falling Star” performed by Del McCoury feat. Sierra Hull
  12. “Straight Tequila Night” performed by Ashley McBryde
  13. “I’m Just an Old Chunk of Coal (But I’m Gonna Be a Diamond Some Day)” performed by Jamey Johnson

Written by: Jon Freeman

Rate it

Previous post

Country News

Kelsey Waldon Sings About John Prine and Getting High on New Album 'No Regular Dog'

Kelsey Waldon’s new song “Sweet Little Girl” opens with a dramatic introduction from Jim Lauderdale, who intones, “All the way from Monkey’s Eyebrow, Kentucky, here’s Kelsey Waldon.” And with that, she’s off, delivering a country music tale of hard living, self-medicating, and yearning for home. “I’m gonna drink myself drunk/I’m gonna get myself high/anything just to make the time pass by,” Waldon sings in “Sweet Little Girl,” the first taste of the songwriter’s upcoming album No Regular Dog, out Aug. […]

todayMay 4, 2022

Similar posts

Country News

CMT Roundup: New Music From Jimmie Allen & Jennifer Lopez, Jordan Davis and More

by Staff 5/27/2022 Artists including Jimmie Allen with Jennifer Lopez, Jordan Davis, Dallas Smith and MacKenzie Porter and Wynonna released songs this week to add new tracks to everyone’s holiday playlist. To see CMT’s complete CMT Roundup Playlist, scroll down. Embedded from Wynonna Judd & Waxahatchee, “Other Side“: […]

todayMay 28, 2022

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *